The Lock function
Introduction
When working with sharing artworks, events, or insights, you may have folders, attachments, or media content that you want to share frequently and others that you prefer to keep private.
The lock function (open or closed ) allows you to precisely control the visibility of each item, deciding what to make available when exporting or sharing, and what to keep exclusively in the internal archive.
Closed/Open Lock: what does it mean?
The lock works like a toggle switch for content visibility.
- Closed lock: the content is private. By default, the content will not be automatically included in shares or exports. This is ideal for internal documents, such as contracts, quotes, valuations, or drafts.
- Open lock: the content is shareable. The content is included in shares, exports, or email transmissions. It is useful for public images, technical records, or frequently displayed media.
How to manage the lock for attachments and media
You can change the status of the lock in two ways:
Manage the lock on individual items
Within the record (artwork, artist, event, or contact), click Details to expand the Details tab.
From here, you can access:

Images and videos
You can manage the lock status of images and videos linked to your records (artworks, artists, contacts, or events) in two ways:
- Directly from the Images and Videos section within the Details tab.
- By clicking directly on the image or video.
Folders
You can lock or unlock an attachment either from within the folder or directly from within the attachment itself.
Here is a brief demonstration:
File
Even for generic files (e.g., PDF, ZIP, Word), the lock can be edited from the folder or from the file's internal view.
Here's a quick demonstration:
Set a default status for new content
To streamline your workflow, you can set whether new uploaded files, images, videos, or attachments should have the lock open or closed by default.
Here's how to do it:
- Access the Settings Panel by clicking the icon bottom left;
- Select Locks & Folders;
- Under Lock status, choose the option you prefer:
- Closed lock: to keep content private right from the start.
- Open lock: to automatically make new content shareable.
Conclusions
Properly using the lock feature allows you to accurately manage the visibility of your content: you can keep your archive organized and secure, clearly deciding what to share and what to keep confidential.